RESOLUTION 2012 - 04

RESOLUTION FORMALLY ADOPTING ADA STANDARDS FOR ACCESSIBILITY AND PUBLIC RIGHTS-OF-WAY ACCESSIBLITY GUIDELINES

WHEREAS, the federal government mandates that recipients of financial assistance from the Federal Highway Administration ("FHWA"), an operating administration of the United States Department of Transportation, follow the Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (2010), as amended, ("ADAAG") when constructing new or altering existing facilities; and

WHEREAS, FHWA also recommends that such recipients also adopt and follow Public Rights-of-Way Accessibility Guidelines (2005), as amended, ("PROWAG") in order to ensure that pedestrian access to sidewalks and streets, including crosswalks, curb ramps, street furnishings, pedestrian signals, parking, and other components of public rights-of-way are in compliance with ADA requirements; and

WHEREAS, LaPorte County is desirous of formally adopting ADAAG and PROWAG as part of the County's continuing effort to implement its ADA Transition Plan and to ensure that LaPorte County is in full and continued compliance with the ADA,

Now, THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Board of Commissioners of the County of LaPorte that,

1. LaPorte County now fully adopts the ADA Standards for Accessibility Guidelines (2010), as amended, ("ADAAG") and the Public Rights-of-Way Accessibility Guidelines (2005), as amended, ("PROWAG").

All of which is adopted by the Board of Commissioners of LaPorte County this 7th day of August, 2012.

Ken Layton, President

ATTEST:

CRAIG HINCHMAN, Auditor

oara Huston, Vice President